Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
標題: From Time to History: Images and Poetics in T. S. Eliot's "Four Quartets"Poetics in T. S. Eliot's Four QuartetsFrom Time to History: Images and Poetics in T. S. Eliot's "Four Quartets"
作者: 陳柏助
Chen, Po-Chu
關鍵字: Four Quartets;四重奏;T. S. Eliot;time;history;image;poetics;艾略特;時間;歷史;意象;詩學
出版社: 外國語文學系
In his later long poem, "Four Quartets," T. S. Eliot presents us with a suite of four poems concerning poetics, time, and history. It is composed by four major long poems, including “Burnt Norton,” “East Coker,” “The Dry Salvages” and “Little Gidding.” Considering the four poems from the perspective of time and history, I take “Burnt Norton” and “East Coker” as an exploration through time flux and timeless moments to unfold an aesthetic world in poetry. Through this exploration, a “stage” is spread out for the poet. The “stage” opens an imaginary space, a virtual journey to lead the poet from time flux into the performance of history. Thus, “The Dry Salvages” and “Little Gidding” dramatically perform the transformation of the poet from time to history. The journey of the transformation is a process where the poet looks for his identity and also where the tradition of poetry becomes an inseparable part from history. Through the dialectic between time and timelessness, the poem achieves its insightful vision and sophisticated poetics.
In each chapter of the thesis, I focus my discussion on one major image in each of the four poems and examine these images by related concepts of time. In order to contribute a reading though images and poetics, conceptions of contemporary thinkers and critics help inspect my motif to the entire thesis and build up a perspective from time to the larger scale in history. Four Quartets is an ambitious long poem illustrating the poet's lifelong pursuit in the field of poetry and poetics. From time to history, the poet composes this pursuing process into four interwoven long poems. The images in each “Quartet” lead the readers to go into the fragmental memories, fear of death, and rending pain of separateness. Through each stage of the four poems, the poet examines his thoughts by philosophical dialectic and captures the visions of dreams by images; in the painful experiences of life, his faith is revealed; in the ecstasy of aesthetic pleasure, the conscious moment in solitary life is shared. Like a well-trained dancer, the poet dances gracefully with the music of "Four Quartets."

Appears in Collections:外國語文學系所

Show full item record

Google ScholarTM


Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.